I once read that the ambitions we have become the stories we live. That idea lingered in my mind for a while and I began asking myself, what are my ambitions? What do I hope to accomplish with my life? What does it mean to live a life of purpose, and what kind of story am I living? I walked away with a bitter thought that maybe I wasn’t living a life worth telling.

As a journalist, I’ve written stories about all kinds of people and places. My favorites were always the stories about hope in the midst of darkness, the ones about everyday people passionate about making a difference, and those whose lives were changed by the quiet heroes around them. These people inspired me to live a great story myself, and I was privileged to share their stories with others in the community.

After I graduated college, I found myself torn between what I wanted to do and what I thought I was supposed to do. I spent several months applying to numerous jobs but my heart was never in them. I spent much of my efforts trying to be the girl that graduated college and work a normal job like everyone else. But what I had in mind for me and what God had for me were two different things. It occurred to me that maybe I wasn’t like everyone else. It made sense because I had never fit into the Emerson College mold of a student. While my peers used their free time to concentrate on their careers, I used it to serve my classmates and the Boston community through Emerson Christian Fellowship and Redemption Hill Church. I had been changed by the Gospel and my eyes had been opened to the needs of those around me. I loved journalism, but I loved people more. That is why feature writing had so much appeal. It gave me the chance to meet new people, listen to their stories, and share those stories with the community. I wanted a job that combined my skill for storytelling, love of people, and passion for serving, but I wasn’t even sure that existed… until recently.

In the last month, God has led me to an opportunity of a lifetime, the job of my dreams. I have been accepted as an official storytelling intern at the Austin Stone Community Church in Austin, TX, working along side the For the City Network team, a nonprofit that maximizes and catalyzes individual, community, and city restoration efforts. As an intern working with For the City Network, I will be reporting and writing the stories of how God is changing the lives of the people of Austin, both within the church and those influenced by it. Not only that, but I will be equipped in leadership and Biblical doctrine through a semester long theological course. My internship begins June 1st, and will continue through the summer until the end of August.

While I give much value to our small individual stories, I believe we are all part of God’s bigger story, and He has invited us to be apart of it. I want to invite you into mine.

If you’re receiving this letter it’s because you are important to me and you being in my life has made a difference in some way. I’m asking that you please consider partnering with me through prayer and/or financial support. God is providing all of us with an opportunity for growth in our faith, obedience and generosity. Like Shawn Koonce, Founder and President of the Tin Roof Society, said, “We are not going to reach the world with spare change and in our spare time.” My goal is to serve full time for the next three months at the Austin Stone, but in order to do that I need your help. To take full advantage of this unique opportunity, I am asking you to partner with me towards a monthly goal of $1,000. I know that God has been shaping my heart for this specific role and I believe with deep confidence that God will provide everything that I will need and deepen my faith through this process.

Will you please consider joining me in my story by partnering with me through prayer and financial support?

Thank you for all your love and support!

Blessings,

JR

Leave a Reply

